//Trail Status mouse over Java // Tires for French Lick

Author Topic: Tires for French Lick  (Read 5577 times)

West Baden Iron

Tires for French Lick
« on: May 10, 2013, 08:08:06 AM »
Hello All,

Just found this forum and wanted to ask a question.  I'm pretty new to mountain biking and live in West Baden.  I have been riding the French Lick trails all spring.  My question is about tires.  I have Schwalbe Rapid Rob tires on at the moment and there are pretty much shot.

I have a Cannondale Trail SL2 hardtail 26" and was wondering what type of tire I should get for those trails.  I'll probably ride Brown County some too but mainly French Lick.  I realize this is a loaded question, but I don't necessarily need which brand, just what type of tire and what features I need.  There are so many options out there that it is confusing to me.  Do I want wire bead, kevlar, folding, aggressive tread, small blocks, etc, etc.  If you want to recommend a specific tire, that would be great too.  I've googled it to death, but I thought I would ask here for these specific trails.

Thanks,

Jason

West Baden Iron

Re: Tires for French Lick
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 05:03:08 PM »
Well after some more searching I finally decided on Kenda Nevegal tires.  Should have them on by the end of the week.  If anyone is interested, I'll give my review of these tires and compare them to the Rapid Rob tires that are currently on my bike.

Thanks,

Jason

Raleighguy29

• Should be riding....
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2013, 06:06:18 PM »
I haven't ridden the lick yet. But I have road the Nevagels. They grip good when it's sloppy but in my experience they roll slow. I prefer the continental  mountain kings much better. Grip is great and they roll fast.
Tubes we don't need no stinking tubes!!

West Baden Iron

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 08:57:23 PM »